top of page
  • Writer's picturejana_noel

The Chakras Overview

The chakras play an important role in yoga. They can give you energy and support you in feeling more balanced and full of energy. In this blog post you will get an overview of what the chakras actually are and how the individual chakras can work on a physical, mental and spiritual level. In the coming blog posts I will then specifically go into the activation of the individual chakras.

The chakras belong to you like your bones, blood circulation and nerve pathways - the only difference is that your chakras are not visible. The 7 main chakras are of special importance and each chakra represents a different life theme.

You can think of your chakras as energy wheels located from your tailbone to the crown of your head along your spine and physiologically connected to our nerve plexuses.

However, depending on the individual development and state of consciousness of the person, the chakras are formed differently. Lack of love, suppression of natural needs and traumatic events can accordingly lead to the fact that individual or several chakras develop only insufficiently or not at all. When an energy wheel cannot flow freely, the disturbance affects the physical, emotional or spiritual life. Feelings such as fear, anger, jealousy or insecurity are a sign of this, as well as physical ailments, including digestive problems, diabetes and allergies can manifest as a result.

Here you have an overview of the individual chakras:

Muladhara Chakra: The root chakra.

Svadisthana Chakra: The Sacral Chakra

Manipura Chakra: The Solar Plexus Chakra

Anahata Chakra: The Heart Chakra

Vishuddha Chakra: The throat or larynx chakra

Ajna Chakra: The forehead chakra ("third eye")

Sahasrara Chakra: The crown chakra

1st Root Chakra

Blockages/disorders: It manifests in existential fears, disorientation, distrust, listlessness and materialism. Physically, it often comes to intestinal and bone diseases, weight problems, varicose veins as well as blood pressure fluctuations.

When activated: strong life energy, self-confidence, assertiveness and good digestion

2nd Sacral Chakra

Blockages/disorders: Constipation, impotence, and also sex addictions can be signs of an impaired sacral chakra. Physically, the disorder manifests as obesity or anorexia. On an emotional level, loneliness, envy, jealousy and sadness are associated symptoms.

When activated: vital sex life, zest for life, self-esteem, enthusiasm and creativity

3rd Solar Plexus Chakra

Blockades/Disturbances: A blockage manifests itself on the one hand in feelings of inferiority and a need to control, and on the other hand in aggressiveness, outbursts of anger and an obsession with power. Physically, it can manifest itself in the form of stomach problems, obesity and diabetes mellitus. Nightmares as well as sleep disorders are also often noticeable.

When activated: willpower, self-confidence, serenity, good gut feeling

4th Heart Chakra

Blockages/disorders: A blockage leads to contact difficulties, lack of love and feeling, separation as well as doubt. Often addictive behaviors are the result due to the inner emptiness, whether alcohol, money or drugs. Physically, disorders manifest themselves in heart disease, asthma and allergies.

When activated: devotion, confidence, optimism, warmth, cordiality, cheerfulness, compassion, helpfulness

5th throat chakra

Blockages/disorders: Blockages express themselves in difficulties in communicating and speaking one's mind. In this context, one is often shy, closed and afraid to come out of oneself. Neck problems, tonsillitis, hoarseness and thyroid disorders are possible consequences.

When activated: strong communication skills, ability to express oneself, self-determination, one finds the right words

6th brow chakra

Blockages/Disorders: If the brow chakra is blocked, one often worries, many fears, nightmares and stress make themselves felt. The result is concentration problems, learning difficulties, headaches, ringing in the ears and a low mood.

When activated: good memory, lots of imagination, mental clarity and intuition

7th crown chakra

Blockages/Disorders: Inner emptiness, feelings of lack, dissatisfaction and mental exhaustion can occur. Physically, this manifests itself in immune deficiency, as well as in difficulty falling asleep and staying asleep, and chronic illnesses.

When activated: self-realization, spiritual understanding, inner peace, abundance

Yours, Jana Noel 🤍

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page